Giplet rocks! IP numbers at your fingertips

A few weeks ago I switched Windows for Linux (Ubuntu, 10.04LTS) on my business laptop. Happy ever since! Today I am preparing a VM for a training, and needed to know some IP addresses. I ran into Giplet, a Gnome panel applet that can display IP addresses of network interfaces of choice.

To install it, run from the command line:

sudo apt-get install giplet

(Die-hards install from source, you get a more recent version, but the same ip-numbers:-))

Next, select “Add to panel”, type ‘gip” and find Giplet

You can configure it according your network settings. Find your network details by typing (on the command line):

ifconfig

The most left value is what you need (eth0, eth1, …). Personally I need ‘eth0’ for my internal IP addres, ‘vmnet8’ for the range assigned to VMWare images using NAT in their network settings. Right-click ‘no IP detected’, and enter your settings, like:

I just replaced the ‘eth0’ by the right network adapter. You can actually remove the ‘wlan0’ and ‘www.whatever’. I thought refreshing every hour would do (60 minutes). Actually, might be quite frequent after all.

Finally you might want to know your external IP as well. You can. Enter ‘http://get-myip.com’ instead of your network adapter to get the public IP address:

Now I got my IP’s I need:

I am happy with the result… Enjoy!

1 Response to “Giplet rocks! IP numbers at your fingertips”


  1. 1 joe October 5, 2012 at 19:16

    i like Giplet and Netspeed to and used them in 11.04 but they don’t seem to be available for 12.04 for some reason. (?) i don’t know how to compile, maybe thats the answer.


Comments are currently closed.